Unfaithful (Rumor Has It).


Rumor has it, I’m a flirt.

Rumor has it, I’ve led people on.

Rumor has it, I have attitude problems.

Well… All the rumors are true.

 

Lately, I’ve been writing all hearts and flowers. However, now, this blog is going to be more critical of the “dark side”.

When you hear the word UNFAITHFUL. What comes to mind? I asked a few people and some of the words they gave me were: infidelity, fickle, liar…

Unfaithful: Synonyms

We are all human. We all make mistakes. Even those who strive for a good, strong relationship with God. And Ezekiel 16: Jerusalem – an Unfaithful Wife, helped me realize that my life needed re-evaluating. From the title alone, we know it is about Jerusalem being an unfaithful wife towards the Lord. Why wife? Because as believers, we have a union with God that is similar to that of marriage. It is a bond that no earthly or supernatural power should or could break. Moving on, the chapter draws a parallelism between Jerusalem and an unfaithful wife in terms of her response to the authority and blessings of her husband (God).

At this point, I encourage you to read Ezekiel 16, to better understand what I am talking about. 

Unfaithful (Rumor Has It).

First, the woman is misled/lost. She begins to look at the blessings of God rather than looking to God himself. She becomes proud and self-reliant. (v. 14-15) Second, she uses her earthly beauty – her outward appearance – to get what she wants, with no regard for the consequences of her actions. She begins to idolize other things like men and her talents. (v. 16-25) Third, she becomes stubborn. The woman knows that she is already in the wrong place, but keeps walking down the same path, hoping that things turn to her favor.  (v.26-33) But instead, what happens?

She loses. Everything. She is described as someone even lower than a prostitute, willingly giving more than just her body to whomever. Now, I am not a prostitue. Haha. But in God’s standards, I can definitely be likened to one.

 

Cause rumor has it, I’m a flirt. I have given priority to other loves when God should have always been first. I use school as an excuse, I become lazy to spend time with God, I get caught up in ministry, I give more importance to friends and let other relationships distract me… The list could go on forever.

Rumor has it, I’ve led people on. There are some promises I failed to keep, people I’ve disappointed and hurt…

Rumor has it, I’ve got attitude problems. Sometimes, I know I’m wrong, but I insist on being right. My pride can skyrocket to infinity and beyond when it comes to admitting my mistakes and I tend to become so insecure.

That is all TRUE. I am the unfaithful, immoral woman that the Bible so often describes. I may not have slept with 20 men, but I have done the most horrendous by loving other things more than God. And that makes me an unfaithful wife. If I loved God like I should, I would never want to part from His side. I would want to spend every waking moment, soaking up His Word and doing His will. But I’m not perfect. I can’t keep a clean record – c’mon, it’s soiled as it is.

I don’t know what rumors you have lined up for you, but even if you have a truckload of “garbage”, like yours truly, you can be sure that God is not going to hesitate wiping all of that squeaky clean, if you would just ask Him.

1 John 1:9, “But if we confess our sins to him, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and cleanse us from all wickedness.”

It’s funny how God can be more forgiving than some people, like me. And that says a lot about what kind of people we are. What right do we have to be angry or to declare a certain number of chances for a person, when God has forgiven us over and over and over and over and over and over and….

You get the picture.

And so yes, rumor has it that I’ve made mistakes. Tell me something new! Haha. As far as I know, I will make mistakes now and then, but the fact that I am not perfect, isn’t an excuse to go on making mistakes. The question is if I am going to stay down or get up and continue to run the race, well…

Psalm 71: 20-21, 23,” You have allowed me to suffer much hardship, but you will restore me to life again and lift me up from the depths of the earth. You will restore me to even greater honor and comfort me once again. I will shout for joy and sing your praises,

for you have ransomed me.

God is faithful. Even if I am so… totally… not. And that is absolute truth. No rumors there.

Leave a Reply

