THE Woman


I’m excited to be a mom.

I don’t know about the rest of you girls, but that is most definitely something that I’m looking forward to. Which is probably the same reason why I was cast as a mom in almost every highschool play I was in. HAHA

My Mom and I

My Mom and I

And being this age – on the verge of being ejected from the teen years – has really brought things into perspective. I’m not old, but I’m not also that young anymore. With all the people in my circle of friends getting into relationships and getting married left and right, girl to woman is finally becoming a reality.

To be honest, I never thought I’d reach this age. I thought that after I turned 16, Jesus would come already, so I didn’t exactly plan for anything big after that age. Which is why, while so many girls had planed for their debut or have already been planning for their ideal weddings, I’m……just here. Clueless. Haha!

I found myself asking my mom stuff like,

“How do you know when you’re ready to get married?”

OR

“How do you know if the person who’s pursuing you is really the one?”

And honestly, bless my mother’s soul, I haven’t found the answer I’m looking for yet. And maybe I never will. Because how DO you know? God won’t tell me flat out, “TALITHA, MARRY ——–.”

 

I asked my dad too, and whadaya know, the man had the answer I was looking for. One of the things that he said was that in looking for the right person, we can’t bring a 50-50 mindset in a marriage, let alone in a relationship. An “I’ll take care of this, and you take care of that,” mindset is not allowed. You have to be ready to take care of EVERYTHING, should anything bad happen (God forbid). When you enter a marriage, you have to be 100% – all in. Who’d want any less?

 

Now, this brings me to something that I’ve been wanting to write about for the longest time and that is about the Proverbs 31 woman.

Ah, THE woman; the cream of the crop, the ideal wife described in the Bible. The funny thing is that many ladies nowadays either idolize her for who she is, or shy away from the responsibility of becoming like her, because she sounds so perfect in the eyes of her beholder. But who do you think wrote about the Proverbs 31 woman? Was it a man who so luckily snagged the most perfect woman during that time?

Did any of you know that a woman wrote the passage? It was written by a mom to her son – the mother of King Lemuel – to guide him in the event of his choosing a wife.  Let’s take a look at it shall we…

Epilogue: The Wife of Noble Character (Proverbs 31:10-31 ESV)

10 An excellent wife who can find? She is far more precious than jewels. Who can find a morally and spiritually upright wife? A woman like that is priceless.
11 The heart of her husband trusts her, and he will have no lack of gain. For her husband, she is the perfect wife, and no one else can compare.
12 She does him good and not harm, all the days of her life. She seeks to honor her husband till the end of her days.
13 She seeks wool and flax and works with willing hands. She looks for and is eager to do the work that is tasked to her
14 She is like the ships of the merchant; she brings her food from afar. The food she cooks comes in so many varieties, each delicious to taste.
15 She rises while it is yet night and provides food for her household and portions for her maidens. She gets up before the rest of the family to prepare breakfast and packed lunches for those who won’t be staying home and she assigns the work that needs to be done to her helpers.
16 She considers a field and buys it; with the fruit of her hands she plants a vineyard. She is a smart investor and puts her money to good use.
17 She dresses herself with strength and makes her arms strong. She does her work diligently, and is well equipped with the knowledge to complete it.
18 She perceives that her merchandise is profitable. Her lamp does not go out at night. What she does brings profit to her family and they are provided for at all times.
19 She puts her hands to the distaff, and her hands hold the spindle.

20 She opens her hand to the poor and reaches out her hands to the needy.

In her hands she takes the responsibility of taking care of the house and she extends help to those who are in need.
21 She is not afraid of snow for her household, for all her household are clothed in scarlet. When bad weather comes, she is not afraid, because she knows that her household is well prepared.
22 She makes bed coverings for herself; her clothing is fine linen and purple. She is resourceful, and does not waste time or money on things that she can come up with on her own, and yet she can still appear queenly in state.
23 Her husband in known in the gates when he sits among the elders of the land. Her husband is a well respected leader and she is his first and foremost supporter.
24 She makes linen garments and sells them; 
she delivers sashes to the merchant. If not employed, she finds a way to earn even just a little bit, with what she can and knows how to do.
25 Strength and dignity are her clothing, and she laughs at the time to come. She has an amazing aura of peace and is a woman of integrity; she does not worry about the future.
26 She opens her mouth with wisdom, and the teaching of kindness is on her tongue. When she speaks, her words are wise, and she knows when it is time to hold her tongue. Her words are uplifting, they do not tear a person down – she rebukes with love.
27 She looks well to the ways of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness. She takes care of the household affairs and always finds something to do, never lazing about.
28 Her children rise up and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praises her: 29 “Many women have done excellently, but you surpass them all.” Her children love her, and always speak of her well, as well as her husband who says to her, “Many women have done excellently, but you surpass them all.”
30 Charm is deceitful, and beauty is vain, but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised. Because flirtatious, charming women can lead you astray and good looks do not last forever, but a woman who loves the Lord more than anyone or anything else is deemed beautiful beyond comparison.
31 Give her the fruit of her hands, and let her works praise her in the gates. Reward her with the fruits of her labor and more, and let those who know her, commend her for doing a good job.

Honestly, that is a lot to take in, and so hard to achieve. But you know what I realized? It’s that if I love my future husband, and if I love my God even more, I am going to try my best be like that woman. And even if I fail at times, I will retrace my steps to the path that God has laid out for the Proverbs 31 woman in me, and continue to walk in the path that He has laid out for me to become more like her.

I have the housework part down, and a few other things like how to do banking and stuff… I still need to get my license, and learn how to iron clothes properly, because all I know is that the collar goes first. Hahahaha but I am confident that the will of God will take me there, to my 100%. And hopefully, my future husband as well, whom I am hoping exists, but who knows! HAHA!

Okay. I’m going to develop my ironing skills now.

2 thoughts on “THE Woman

  1. Tahnee! I love this! Isn’t it weird that we’re thinking about these things already? I feel so old and young at the same time…

    Thanks for a very thoughtful blog. :) I miss you!

Leave a Reply

