Beautiful Feet


I don’t exactly like feet.

 

 

Not many of you know this, but I when I was younger, I was teased because of my feet. They were called “Tarzan feet”. Have any of you seen what Tarzan’s feet look like?

Tarzan's Feet!

Tarzan’s Feet!

There we go. Tarzan’s feet.

Not exactly the best thing to have your feet compared to. I used to stare at my feet with utter disdain for how they looked and haven’t liked them much ever since. Hahahaha. Silly, I know. But it’s something I’ve always been kind of ashamed to share.

 

Now, whenever I think of feet, I consequently think of the story in the book of John, where Jesus washed the feet of his disciples….

Jesus Washes His Disciples’ Feet (John 13: 1-4, 12-15)

It was just before the Passover Festival. Jesus knew that the hour had come for him to leave this world and go to the Father. Having loved his own who were in the world, he loved them to the end.

The evening meal was in progress, and the devil had already prompted Judas, the son of Simon Iscariot, to betray Jesus. Jesus knew that the Father had put all things under his power, and that he had come from God and was returning to God; so he got up from the meal, took off his outer clothing, and wrapped a towel around his waist. After that, he poured water into a basin and began to wash his disciples’ feet, drying them with the towel that was wrapped around him.

12 When he had finished washing their feet, he put on his clothes and returned to his place. “Do you understand what I have done for you?” he asked them. 13 “You call me ‘Teacher’ and ‘Lord,’ and rightly so, for that is what I am. 14 Now that I, your Lord and Teacher, have washed your feet, you also should wash one another’s feet. 15 I have set you an example that you should do as I have done for you.

Jesus taught His disciples that being a true leader actually means being a servant. When Jesus would return to Heaven after His resurrection, the disciples would be accountable for leading more people to Christ, so He had to show them how.

The amazing thing is that no matter how sinful we are, we are all the same under the eyes of God. Just because you make a mistake or chose to disobey God, doesn’t mean that He will love you any less. And this is one of the things that I have learned from leading my own group of girls in our youth ministry at church – Jzone Elevate.

I, personally, have made a lot of mistakes, and often times, I am ashamed to approach God again after making those mistakes. Sometimes I think that He’s already getting annoyed with my occasional stubbornness. I mean, how can God use someone who makes mistakes over and over again and someone who has “Tarzan feet” to do His glorious work, right?

 

A few months ago, we practiced washing the feet of our disciples just like the way Jesus had with his disciples in the Bible, and it was a very humbling experience. I don’t like feet remember? But to wash someone’s feet and to have my own feet washed as well, reminded me of how God has washed away our sins and made us all “brand new” in His eyes.

Which is why to all those people who plan to start over because it’s a new year, I am here to tell you that you don’t have to wait for a new year to start over. With God, it’s something you can do at any point in your life. Anywhere, anytime! And because God has blessed us with so much, what right do we have to withhold the privilege of blessing others with God’s Word, right?

Here’s a picture of me, my disciple, and the disciple of my disciple right after we washed each other’s feet! :)

(From right to left) Me, my disciple, and the disciple of my disciple!

(From right to left) Me, my disciple, and the disciple of my disciple!

And as for my “Tarzan feet”, well, here they are today. I actually prayed from them to look better, and, you know what, they look kinda okay to me already. Hahaha! But even if they didn’t, I would no longer be ashamed, because I know God thinks I have beautiful feet.

Untitled-1

Have a blessed New Year!

Romans 10:15 (NKJV)

15 And how shall they preach unless they are sent? As it is written: How beautiful are the feet of those who preach the gospel of peace,[a] who bring glad tidings of good things!”[b]

 

Leave a Reply

