Guidelines for a King


God was really quiet for a while.

All throughout Leviticus and Numbers. Haha! I have yet to figure out what He’s trying to teach me in those books, but as I was nearing the end of Deuteronomy, He suddenly swamped me with a really cool realization! The funny thing is that it’s still in the area of finding ‘prince charming’ (although in all honesty, that’s not what I was looking for anymore).

 

When I was younger, I had a list I called my “GB list” – the term ‘GB’ meaning ‘God’s Best’ pertaining to the best person that God has waiting for me. And that list reached up until more than a hundred items. I still have it with me, and although I think God has already changed my viewpoint on certain things, it’s fun to look back at who my dream boy could have been then.

What I realized recently is that everyone has soft limits and hard limits. Soft limits are more like personal preferences – the things I would prefer my GB having, but the hard limits are the ones that he has to have – the things that God requires from any man looking to be his dream girl’s God’s Best.

 

Going back to my really cool realization… The memory of my GB list came along because of my recent discovery in the book of Deuteronomy. (Did that just rhyme? HAHAHA) Just like my GB list, I came upon a list of guidelines that the Lord handed to Moses regarding the future kings of Israel. And while I was reading God’s guidelines, it felt like the words were popping out of my Bible and into my train of thought, while God was directly translating it into what our (all women) hard limits should be.

So, this should be interesting. Although the heading for this portion in Deuteronomy was entitled Guidelines for a King; a king as defined is a ruler of state – authority – just as all husbands will be the future heads of their homes. Seems like an okay comparison, yes? Well, without further ado…

Ladies and Gentlemen, I present to you God’s set hard limits for selecting/being a GB. Selection for women, and the being, for men.

TAKEN BY: STEPH FIRME
(Post-processing: Talitha Buizon)

GUIDELINES FOR A KING GB

FROM THE BIBLE (NLT)

“GB” TRANSLATION

14 “You are about to enter the land the Lord your God is giving you. When you take it over and settle there, you may think, ‘We should select a king to rule over us like the other nations around us.’

15 If this happens, be sure to select as king the man the Lord your God chooses. You must appoint a fellow Israelite; he may not be a foreigner.

16 “The king must not build up a large stable of horses for himself or send his people to Egypt to buy horses, for the Lord has told you, ‘You must never return to Egypt.’

17 The king must not take many wives for himself, because they will turn his heart away from the Lord. And he must not accumulate large amounts of wealth in silver and gold for himself.

18 “When he sits on the throne as king, he must copy for himself this body of instruction on a scroll in the presence of the Levitical priests.

19 He must always keep that copy with him and read it daily as long as he lives. That way he will learn to fear the Lord his God by obeying all the terms of these instructions and decrees.

20 This regular reading will prevent him from becoming proud and acting as if he is above his fellow citizens. It will also prevent him from turning away from these commands in the smallest way. And it will ensure that he and his descendants will reign for many generations in Israel.

14 When you get older, you may being to think that it is already time to find your God’s Best.

 

15 Should this happen, be sure that you select as God’s Best, the man the Lord your God chooses. You must choose a fellow believer.

16 He must not surround himself by people who will influence him to give in to the desires of the flesh.

 

17 He must not have had unresolved relationships in the past or any relationship that displeases the Lord at the present, because this will turn his heart away from the Lord. Money should never be an issue.

18 As he takes the position of the head of your household, he must carry God’s Word with him.

19 And he has to read it every single day for as long as he lives. That way, he will fear the Lord his God, and will obey all He has commanded.

 

20 It will keep him from becoming proud and acting like he is better than everyone else. It will also keep him from disobeying the Lord even with the smallest commands. And this will ensure that your children and your children’s children will be raised well, and will excel in everything that they do.

Simple.

I honestly found the first few parts a bit easier to find, but the latter part about having someone who read the Bible every single day is something that I know is going to be a little more difficult, because there aren’t much who do. I struggle to read the Bible almost every day! (Especially when I was reading Numbers HUHUHUHU) But I have high hopes and will start to pray for more of us to continue reading the Bible. Include me in your prayers too! Maybe for some of you, that’s all you’re lacking in God’s list of hard limits!

Just something interesting that God taught me today. He actually has a lot in store for me in Deuteronomy, I can feel it. Which is why one of the tags for this blog is Deuteronomites. HAHAHAHA I encourage you guys to read the last few chapters. Powerful stuff.

Have a great week ahead! :)

3 thoughts on “Guidelines for a King

  1. Wow, Tahnee… The Book of Deuteronomy is the book of my life!!!!… How the Lord told me what it was going to be many years ago…. and I did not understand…. until everything just started happening and falling into place… Keep your journal of prayers and quiet time…. One day, you will see clearly what He is talking about…. and it is simply amazing!!!!…. I pray you experience that because it is the most beautiful thing anybody can experience!!!….To see God so real, so close, so in touch and so in charge of our lives and revealing to us bit by bit His Master Plan with all details…. How He has reserved a specific adventure for each of us!!!….Love you and miss you so much!!… Thank you for always sharing…

Leave a Reply

