Lights. Camera. Action, action, action!


Ladies. This blog is going to be primarily for you guys! (BUT boys, take note! this may be interesting)

It being the season for our Mothers, what better topic to relate this blog to other than our modern day superwomen. They are the perfect examples of one of the characteristics of God and that is that God is a man of action. If you think about it, the Bible is like a story book of all the adventures He allowed his people to have. The one that I have in mind right now is the time that He led the Israelites to cross the Red Sea.

“So the people of Israel walked through the middle of the sea on dry ground, with walls of water on each side!”

Exodus 14:22

I don’t know about you guys, but I imagined that entire scene looking something like this (picture below), and THAT is quite a lot of action to see.

Crossing the Red Sea

I can’t help but wonder what the Israelites must have been thinking at that very moment. Haha! Anywayyy…

I’m sure that most of you are familiar with the saying, “Actions speak louder than words.”

Let me quote a song that was well known back in the day:

“More than words
Is all you have to do to make it real
Then you wouldn’t have to say that you love me
‘Cause I’d already know.”

– More Than Words; Extreme

See?

People nowadays can be so colorful with the things that they say, but when it’s time to act, we find ourselves short of those who are supposed to be acting. And that is why, for this blog, I want to share with you something that one of my titas (aunts) texted my Mom for Mother’s Day. But I’m going to modify it a bit, so that it can fit, if not women of all generations, then most women, and even younger girls. Haha! And hopefully, this will all help us be women of action as well. And I don’t mean the Arnold Schwarzenegger type of action. Alright? Okay. Here goes.

The Ultimate Beauty Guide for Women of Action

Model: Kaila Buizon; Taken by: Talitha Buizon; Post-prcessing: Talitha Buizon

(Now, before I get started… BOYS. These are the qualities you guys should be looking for in your future wives. Of course, there may be more, but at least you get the picture. Just a heads up. ;) Hahaha)

1. For ALLURING EYES, “Don’t be selfish; don’t try to impress others. Be humble, thinking of others as better than yourselves. Don’t look out only for your own interests, but take an interest in others, too. (Philippians 2:3-4)”

Meaning, make sure you are sensitive to the people around you. Girls, I know that we all love attention. We may deny it, but there is always going to be a part of us that wants to be noticedwhich is something that we need to be very careful about. Today, we have a new mantra: Others then me, others then me….. Haha! Kidding. A classic example of a woman who’d put others before herself are our mothers. Have you ever thanked them for waking you up in the morning to make sure that you get to class on time? Or even the fact that she endured 9 months with you attached to her, her belly growing, and her figure vanishing, just so that you could live?

So, girls, remember that! Eyes that sparkle, are eyes that see the need of others first.

2. For LUSCIOUS LIPS, “Don’t use foul or abusive language. Let everything you say be good and helpful, so that your words will be an encouragement to those who hear them. (Ephesians 4:29)”

Aha! Actions may speak louder than words, but words can also cut deep. Most girls, if not all, like talking. I don’t know about you, but I love talking. And my friends can attest to that. Haha! There are times when my mouth gets ahead of my mind, and I say things before I think of what the consequences would be if I said anything at all. The hard part about having luscious lips is that once we let filthy talk slip through them, we can never take it back. And by “filthy talk” I don’t just mean, cursing or mean words. This also includes gossip and slander, which are two things that I find so hard to stay away from because it’s everywhere!

HAY. We have to watch our words.

3. For a FLAWLESS COMPLEXION, “A cheerful heart is good medicine, but a broken spirit saps a person’s strength. (Proverbs 17:22)” 

This is probably the easiest. Simply be happy! How can our GB (God’s Best) notice us if we don’t smile and show those pearly whites for the world to see! Fact: it takes more muscles to frown than to smile. So, the more you frown = the faster your winning looks will run away from you! Oh noo!

4. For TENDER ARMS“Rejoice with those who rejoice; mourn with those who mourn. (Romans 12:15)”

In other words, empathize! To empathize means to understand and share the feelings of others. One thing I am very thankful for, is that God has blessed me with compassion for others. It’s quite funny actually. This has been going on for about half a year. There are times when I find myself crying for people whom I don’t know or am not too close to, simply because it’s like I can feel when they’re going through. It’s strange sometimes. Haha! Because I don’t personally know most of the people I cry for, but I’ve seen God’s hand at work, and it is amazing how he has used this to help me be more understanding.

And finallyyy…..

5. For PRETTY FEET“For we walk by faith, not by sight. (2 Corinthians 5:7)”

There is nothing like a girl who has complete trust in the Lord, and where He’s leading her. Really. :)

I’ve seen the lives of so many women who trust in the Lord, and they are all so beautiful! We need to remember that there will be many times in our lives when we think we’ve reached a dead end – another problem, another fight, another broken heart – but if we trust that the Lord has our best interests in mind, and that He has THE best plan for us, then it will all be okay.

All we’ve gotta do, is sit pretty, and act upon what God’s will is for us. Don’t get me wrong, IT ISN’T EASY. In fact… It’s impossible! But what does the Bible say? Luke 1:37,

“Nothing is impossible with God.”

____

Well, that was quite a challenge to put together! But it has evermore brought me realize that God loves us with a love so passionate that He gave up his own Son to save us – people who lack in almost everything. And His Son, Jesus, trusted in his Father, so much so that even if he asked God if “this cup could be taken away” from him, he still chose God’s will.

We forget that we have a God who made the universe; a God who calls the sun to rise every single morning and tells it to set as well. We forget that we have a God who loves us. Which is why we are caught up with all these small worries in life about how we look, or how we dress, or what people think of us, or the kind of impressions that we have to make…

All the while, God is thinking… “Why aren’t they listening?”

Ladies, “charm is deceptive, and beauty does not last…” Physical beauty will forever remain only skin deep, “but a woman who fears the Lord will be greatly praised.” (Proverbs 31:30) Let’s continue to beautify ourselves in the eyes of the Lord!

So, if you are a woman who fears Him, YOU ARE BEAUTIFUL! And this goes for all women when I say that we should not need the attention of a boy or the approval of our friends, to realize that. :)

Leave a Reply

