I will not let Your people go!


"I will not let your people go!"

As I was studying the book of Exodus and the ten plagues that haunted Pharaoh until he released the Israelites, I realized that I too can be just like Pharaoh.

 I will not let your people go!

This was, sort of, like his mantra. He’d say it every single time Moses would ask if the Israelites could take a permanent leave of absence and go to worship and God in the land that He promised. Because…

“Pharaoh’s heart became hard.”

Exodus 7:13, 22; 8:15, 19, 32; 9:7, 12, 35; 10:20, 27

Check out all those verses, and all you will see is that Pharaoh’s heart was hardened, or that he was stubborn and still wouldn’t let the people of God go. You see, Pharaoh had his rep to keep. He was the mightiest person in Egypt, even considered a god himself, but what Pharaoh failed to realize is that, God, is going to be the only God there is ever gonna be!

And why am I like Pharaoh? Because there are times when I still try to become ‘god’ of my own life.  I try to take things into my own hands, when all I should be doing is throwing them into the hands of God (which is so much simpler, by the way; I don’t understand why we keep trying to control our lives thinking that the outcome will be for our best interest).

We may not think that what He is doing is what’s going to be best for us, but have a little faith! He died for us, didn’t He? He forgave us, saved us… God has OUR best interests in mind.

Ephesians 3:16-19 says,

16 I pray that from his glorious, unlimited resources he will empower you with inner strength through his Spirit. 17 Then Christ will make his home in your hearts as you trust in him. Your roots will grow down into God’s love and keep you strong. 18 And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep his love is. 19 May you experience the love of Christ, though it is too great to understand fully. Then you will be made complete with all the fullness of life and power that comes from God. (NLT)

May God’s love always be enough for you and for me to realize that He is, and should always be in control.

So, guys, let’s quit being Pharaoh and let Jesus take the wheel. :)

Leave a Reply

